Beating expectations for voter turnout, Kiowa County residents made their votes count in the primary election.

Residents of Kiowa County voted at three different polling locations on August 7, taking part in the 2018 Primary Election for the state of Kansas. Polls were open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in Mullinville at 200 S. Main Street, Greensburg 720 N. Bay Street and Haviland, 109 N. Main Street.

Ann Dixson, who volunteered at the voting booth in Greensburg said everything went smoothly with no unexpected surprises.

Primary elections were held to select a candidate to represent a political party. This year the big question was who would be the gubernatorial Republican candidate for the state and the two top runners were Governor Jeff Colyer and Secretary of State Kris Kobach

Kiowa County voters showed up in larger-than-expected numbers to make their choices for governor, as well as for other local, regional and state postions.

“The voters who participated were less than 50% of those that are registered” but greater than 30 percent,” said Kristi Cooper, Kiowa County Clerk. “There were no problems during the election or with the counting.”

Copper said there were 14 provisional ballots this year.

At the end of the day on August 7, 2018, Secretary of State Kris Kobach appeared to be headed for victory over Colyer for the Republican gubernatorial position. That lead increased as provisional ballots were counted with totals at 128,207 votes for Kobach and 127,887 for Colyer, as of 3 p.m. on Tuesday.

Kansas operates a closed primary system in which only voters who have affiliated with the given political party may vote in that party’s primary and runoff primary elections. Local precinct results follow. Other unoffical primary election results were published 8- 8-18 in the Kiowa County Signal and can be found online at

Precinct Committeeman Center 1

D- David Allen 14

D-Rich Reeves 4

Precinct Committeewoman Center 1
R-Terri Butler 115

D-Tony Allen-Green-leaf 18

Precinct Committeeman Center 2
Precinct Committeewoman Center 2

D-Carolyn Morton 9

Precinct Committeeman Haviland

R-Gunnar Stauth 152

Precinct Committeewoman Haviland

R-Corla Clark 183

Precinct Committeeman Mullinville

R-JC Underwood 50

Precinct Committeewoman Mullinville

R-Doris Underwood 54

Precinct Committeeman Belvidere
Precinct Committeewoman Belvidere